Centre finalises 13 more cities to be developed under the Smart Cities Mission

The central government has announced the names of 13 more cities that will be developed under the Smart Cities Mission. Lucknow in Uttar Pradesh tops the list, followed by Warangal in Telangana, and Dharamshala in Himachal Pradesh. About 23 cities with high rankings, which failed to get representation in the first round of the competition held in January 2016, participated in the second fast-track competition. Of these 23 cities, only 13 qualified for the smart city projects. The 13 cities selected in the competition have proposed a total investment of Rs 302.29 billion. In all, the total investment proposed by the 33 cities (20 selected in Round I and 13 cities selected in the fast-track competition) under the smart city plans is estimated at Rs 807.89 billion. Further, the centre has decided to include Meerut and Rai Bareli in Uttar Pradesh and Jammu and Srinagar in Jammu & Kashmir in the Smart Cities Mission competition. Seven capital cities – Patna, Shimla, Naya Raipur, Itanagar, Amaravati, Bengaluru and Thiruvananthapuram – which had been excluded from the mission, were also allowed to participate.


    Enter your email address